FAQ

  • Personal Injury FAQ

    • How much money is my personal injury claim worth?
      Every personal injury claim is unique. There are so many factors that determine a personal injury settlement—how serious the plaintiff’s injuries are, the defendant’s assets, the strength of the claim, etc.—that it is impossible to provide a one size fits all answer to this question. However, consulting with a personal injury lawyer should give you a good idea of what your specific case is worth.
    • What damages are available in a personal injury claim?
      You can receive compensation for any accident-related losses you have suffered, including (but not limited to) the full cost of your medical treatment, lost wages, and pain and suffering. Make sure to save all bills, receipts, and correspondence related to your claim so you can be properly reimbursed.
    • What is Florida's 14 day PIP rule?
      Under Florida's no-fault system, you have 14 days to get medical care for the injuries you suffered in a Florida car accident or your PIP provider may deny your claim benefits. As long as you have received medical care at a hospital, ambulatory surgical center and/or from a statutory approved health care provider within 14 days and are determined to have sustained am “Emergency Medical Condition” your PIP provider should be responsible for the reimbursement for medical services up to $10,000.00. If, however, you are determined not to have sustained an “Emergency Medical Condition” your PIP provider may only be responsible for reimbursement up to $2,500.00. This┬átime is required in order for you to be able to file a claim for compensation through your no-fault, personal injury protection insurance (PIP).
    • What is the personal injury statute of limitations in Florida?
      In Florida, the deadline to file a personal injury claim (also known as the statute of limitations) is four (4) years.
    • How often do personal injury claims go to court?
      Not very. Most personal injury claims are settled with negotiations and never see the inside of a courtroom. Only about 5% of personal injury cases in the U.S. make it to trial. However, we always prepare our cases for trial just in case.
    • Do I need to hire a lawyer for a personal injury case?
      Whether or not you should hire a lawyer depends largely on two factors: the extent of the damages and your personal preference. If you were in a minor accident that resulted in minor injuries and it is clear who is at fault, you can probably handle the claim on your own. If you have suffered serious injuries, the liable party is being uncooperative and denying fault, and/or other factors are making the case more complex than you feel capable of handling on your own, hiring an attorney is likely a good call. However, ultimately the choice is yours. We recommend at least consulting with a lawyer—or even a few—before making your final decision.